Guest Access

Add Guest Access

You can share access to your lock box with friends, family or colleagues. You can provide access via their Bluetooth® enabled device or via the lock keypad.

To provide Bluetooth® access:

  1. Select the lock or lock box to which you would like to provide Guest access from the Locks list.
  2. Touch manage lock in the upper right corner. Enter your passcode, if prompted.
  3. Scroll down to guests and touch the add a guest icon Add Guest Icon in the upper right corner.
  4. Select the appropriate option to choose an existing Guest or add a new Guest.
  5. Follow the prompts to enter your Guest's contact information and then touch continue.
  6. The default is Simple Mode in which you select your Guest's Schedule: Unlimited (24/7), Day (7 AM - 7 PM), or Night (7 PM - 7 AM)
  7. If a more defined schedule is required, touch Advanced Mode to define access with a specific start and stop time/date and/or for specific days of the week.
  8. If using Advanced Mode, you may also give permission for your Guest to view the Temporary Code and the Last Known Location.
  9. After completing Guest permissions, touch Share Invitation and follow the prompts.
  10. You will receive a confirmation that an invitation has been sent.
  11. Once your Guest acceps the invitation, they will be prompted to either log into their Master Lock Vault account or create a new account.
  12. You will receive an email confirmation that they have accepted the invitation.
  13. Your Guest will see your lock or lock box under locks shared with you in their app and in their Master Lock Vault account.

Guests can view the lock's relock time, add notes to the lock, and view other information, depending on their permissions.

Revoke Guest Access or Delete a Guest

To ensure a Guest can no longer access a lock or lock box, the lock owner, should 1) Revoke Guest Access or Delete the Guest AND 2) Perform the Reset Keys function within proximity of the lock or lock box.

  1. Under your locks, touch the lock or lock box for which you wish to remove a guest.
  2. Touch manage lock in the upper right corner. Enter your passcode, if prompted.
  3. Swipe the Guest record to the left.
  4. Touch the Delete icon Delete Icon.
  5. Select revoke access (to revoke the Guest's access to this lock only) or delete (to delete the Guest from all locks).
  6. Your Guest will receive an email notification that their access has been revoked.
  7. Make sure that the owner's device that is synced to the lock is within proximity of the lock or lock box (Reset Keys cannot be performed remotely).
  8. Select the lock or lock box from the Locks list.
  9. Touch manage lock in the upper right corner. Enter your passcode, if prompted.
  10. Touch the settings icon Settings Icon in the upper right corner.
  11. Touch reset keys.
  12. Follow any additional instructions in the app to save the changes to your lock or lock box. This step must be completed for each lock or lock box in instances where there is a lost or stolen device.

Send Temporary Code

If you would like to share access to your lock with a Guest who only needs temporary access or who doesn't have a Bluetooth enabled device, you can send a Temporary Code they can enter on the lock keypad.

To send a Temporary Code:

  1. Select the lock from the Locks list.
  2. Touch manage lock in the upper right corner. Enter your passcode, if prompted.
  3. Touch the settings icon SETTINGS icon Settings Icon in the upper right corner.
  4. Touch Share Temporary Code.
  5. Choose whether to send the current Temporary Code or a Future Temporary Code. If choosing a Future Code, define the access date/time.
  6. Touch Share Temporary Code and follow the prompts.
  7. You will receive a confirmation that a Temporary Code has been sent.
  8. Your Guest will receive the Temporary Code and its start and/or expiration date/time. Temporary Codes are good for 4 - 8 hours.

Note: If you anticipate the need to send a Temporary Code to a Guest via SMS on a regular basis, please make sure to also include their email address which will ensure they are added to your app Guestbook. This will allow you to choose the Guest from your Guestbook in the future.